todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Look down..

My Saturday morning visit to Erskine has become a regular occurrence. I've come to look forward to my trail run along the banks of the RiverClyde.

If yesterday was all about looking up, today is all about looking down. I use a phone app called endomondo to track my run and this morning my early feedback was good. It's what all of us runners who are obsessed with the numbers want to hear - they're lower, I'm running faster...

As I entered the small patch of woodland and started to climb the muddy, leaf strewn hill, my mind returned to my running partner of 20 years ago - Johnny Fitz. He taught me to run up hills effectively and efficiently and I've never forgotten his advice.

"Shorten your stride, stay on your toes and keep looking down"

"One foot in front of the other, stay on your toes and keep looking down"

"Only focus on what's in front of you, stay on your toes and keep looking down"

I followed his advice to the letter and ran 1min 34 secs quicker than last week. A satisfying effort. I could feel him with me, talking in my ear.

Good advice for running, good advice for life - focus on what's in front of you and stay on your toes. Thanks Johnny Fitz, you taught me well.

Today outof10? A focused 9.5 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.