todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Traditional and modern...

I studied social sciences with the Open University. Learning, studying and essay writing as solitary activities was a completely different experience from how I'd enjoyed learning in school.

I remember the whole year's books, video and audio tapes and assignments arriving all at once at the start of each term. My studies would be neatly divided into one book and one assignment every four weeks, with a wall planner to help me be super organised. As a system of learning, it was first class.

The first thing I would read would introduce me to the key concepts that would thread through my studies that year. I can still remember them from my introduction to social sciences course - public/private, self/other and traditional/modern. I reflected often on the push and pull of the opposing ideas contained within each concept. I still do.

I love it when I get the chance to see traditional and modern architecture side by side - happily coexisting and bringing out the best in each another.

These two beautiful buildings stand in the Main Street in Alexandria, which is a stones throw from Loch Lomond. One is the modern vale of Leven health and care centre and the traditional other is the majestic but rather crestfallen Argyll Motors Ltd

How lucky the Alexandrians are to see these beautiful buildings every day. They made my day today.

Today outof10? An appreciative 9 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.