A Tragic Tale

Len, Basil and I drove to Donna Nook Seal Breeding Colony on the north Lincolnshire coast today. Two hours there and two hours back. Despite the early threat of mist and rain, the sun emerged and it became a lovely day.

The visitor area has been rebuilt since the storm surge last year. The seals so far have parked themselves in the bay just to the south rather than come right up to the fence as in past years. I was glad I had my long focal length lens.

This little pup was new born and was calling and searching for his Mum. But he went the wrong way and came face to face with this strange cow. When she realised that it was not her pup, she picked him up by his flipper and tossed him into the dune grass. It was a vicious bite. I don't know if he survived. I didn't see him again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.