Nexus of Communication

After a very unpromising start, today turned into one of those golden Autumn days. Basil and I drove in Murphy to East Midlands Parkway rail station to collect my tickets for London tomorrow.

Then we retraced our route to Kegworth and parked in a small car park by the canal and the River Soar. It was the first time I'd taken this walk in the flood meadow. Basil had a whale of a time. As you can see, this stretch of the River Soar is a route for narrow boats to join up with the Grand Union Canal. In the background, Ratcliffe on Soar power station belches out power with lines of pylons radiating out from it. Between the power station and the canal lies the main rail line to St Pancras. A mile or so behind me is the M1. Overhead, planes fly in and out of East Midlands Airport.

I have this suspicion that government wants to create another conurbation here. The high speed rail link will be pushing through at some point, either to Toton just to the north, or via a site in Derbyshire.

No blip yesterday. I was preoccupied with preparing a presentation for the Chairman's Challenge at Shepshed Camera Club and forgot to take my camera with me in the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.