Waiting

I sat in my car in the rain today waiting for a man who never arrived. He was to put a stone down to mark a seat I have sponsored in a local park. The stone is for my late wife Siobhán and her bridesmaid Josephine. The stone will declare "For Siobhán and Josephine who loved to sit and chat." I waited in hope until the park closed up.. It was not to be...

11a.m. November 11th 1978 I waited with expectancy and a little trepidation at the alter for a woman who had promised herself to me. Thirty six years on she still delivers all she promised. Though gone nine years I still see her in the eyes for our children and grandchildren. She left a legacy many aspire to. She was not perfect. She was not always right. However, she was wise, she was warm, she was loving, she was caring and and she was forgiving. I was lucky to have her for 27 years....
I have moved on now and have met someone special. I will never forget Siobhán and our irreplacable time together. I do not compare Siobhán to others as she would win some battles whilst losing others and more importantly I never felt the need to compare. As stated in Desiderata "Avoid loud and aggressive persons, they are vexations to the spirit. If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter; for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself."

Today was spent, by choice, in isolation trying to dredge up long forgotten details of my wedding day and our early years together. I remember tidbits of great insignificence like the brightly painted pottery puffin statue in a glass case in the Great Southern Hotel in Rosslare we could not afford as a momento but I cannot remember what music we danced to on our wedding day...
I got no call today from my son or daughter or many friends because they know and respect my wish for solitude. To spend one day in a year remembering without interruption seems right and fitting.....just saying

And I Love You So

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.