ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

"Out Of Season"

Wanted sunflowers for my wedding anniversary....Had to be sunflowers, if possible. I went to my local florist/greengrocer (her husband is a farmer) and was told they were out of season... Went to the next town tried two florists... Same story.... On to the next town...Same again... Do they not realize the strawberries they sell, and practically everything else in November, is out of season? Poppies are out of season too but there are those who can source them for today for personal visits on Remembrance Day...and that is good and fitting...
So I went to Dublin to the vegetable/flower market and spoke to the wholesalers...All out... so I bought some sunflower like flowers....and made a telephone call..... and conversations were had..... A truck from Israel was opened in a yard in the docks.....I went to my friend Dominic and chatted for an hour........ and then I had my flowers.... My friends are real....my friends are good...my friends are kind...... And I know this....
Got an envelope in the post this morning from a thoughtful, loving friend.... It had an ornament of a moon and an owl that matches the one that protects Siobhán's grave......
Today is a day of pain....a day of joy.....a day of quiet reflection, a day to be thankful for those who love me.....
and I wouldn't have it any other way.......
just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.