Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Red-drops

Roses again. Red again. Wet again. I managed to avoid blowing them out - which pleases me. The focus isn't quite what I'd have liked it to be, but I'm rather happy anyway.

Larger is better.

Flickr is biggr and more bettr.

Soligor 1:2.8/35 on Pentax K-30. f/2.8

Today I got a phone call from the owner of Como, our favourite restaurant - where we went on the weekend for mrs tsuken's birthday. She rang to thank me with deep thanks, for a couple of (rather effusive) reviews I left online. The particular reason - for my glowing reviews, and for her urge to thank me for them - was a rather odd diner there the night we were. Bizarrely, this person thought the food terrible (I think she must have her tastebuds in her ... not mouth ... but whatevs), and she took pains to express that rather expressively - on the night, and later in online reviews.

It got me thinking. Ok, maybe she really didn't find the quality of the food up to scratch. Maybe she's a Time Lord fresh from the court of Emperor Cuisine l'Awesome the 18th or something. Fine. Did she really need to be unkind about it? There are ways and ways to go about things, and I just cannot see the use in unkindness; I can't see what good it does either party.

Contrast that with the good that has come from a couple of very simple acts of, perhaps, kindness: me leaving nice reviews to counter the nastiness; Rachel calling to thank me. Neither of us needed to do either; neither thing cost either of us anything but a tiny bit of time; neither even gave anything material to the other - but they provided happiness, or at least positive feelings and thoughts.

And it really wasn't so hard to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.