Office Buddy

Is back. First it was Rosing, then she was replaced by Jack when she was in Australia and now she has reclaimed her place. Time to don my headphones so that I can block out the sound of her mobile pinging every 30 seconds!

Grrr.

Grrr.

That's how I feel about supermarkets and self service checkouts in particular. Nippoed into Asda quickly at lunch time and took the opportunity to buy a half bottle of whisky for Diana to give as an Xmas present to Adrian as she is too busy visiting Mags in hospital to worry about Xmas. Long queues at the checkouts so against my better judgement, I used the self service checkout even though I'm not paid by Asda to work the checkouts and don't get a discount on my shopping for doing so. Unsurprisingly my bottle of whisky set alarms ringing and needed to be authorised. Then, as I leave the store, I set alarms ringing again and am challenged to produce a receipt which I duly do. The oik who stopped me then helps himself to my bottle of whisky and opens the box toi reveal that the bottle has a security tag. I'm instructed to return to the service desk and get it removed as though it is my fault that it is there in the first place. I ask why the lady who authorised the sale didn't think to do that in the first place and am rewarded with a blank expression. This clearly was not included in his training and he doesn't possess the ability to think for himself.

I could go on and on about this, but I'm beginning to bore myself, but I will finish by sating that I feel so sorry for people who have relied on supermarkets for their employment. They are being squeezed out of their jobs, put on part time contracts which cuts back their benefits whilst preventing them from working elsewhere and why? So our shopping is cheaper? No, so that the supermarket profits are higher. Where's my matches, time to light that bonfire.

Have I said Grrr already?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.