Bob20

By Bob20

Varanasi Ghats, Great Cremation site

This morning we were up at 4.30am to visit the Ghats on the River Ganges at Varanasi, to see the sunrise and the devout Hindus bathing. Further along the Ghats, we visited the Great cremation Ground where every Hindu would wish to be cremated.

Before I write about this particular site, I should like to say that if any person on Blip is offended by this image, I apologise profusely. It is not intended as anything other than to be informative and part of my photo journal.

This site is sacred. Access is allowed only to male Hindus and only one family is permitted to perform the cremations. The bodies are brought down wrapped in a shroud and decorated with flowers and the colours signify the age group of the person who has died.

The funeral pyres are built of Sandalwood which can be seen in this image and is brought to the site by boat. Funerals take place all the time. If you want to look LARGE, you will see a family bringing one of their relatives to be cremated. You will also see sacred cows wandering around the site. They are eating the flowers which have not burned.

I’m sure that a more detailed explanation is available in books and on the Internet for those that are interested.

The morning was beautiful and the cremation site very moving.


I do hope you find this blip interesting and informative. We are now in Khajuraho to visit the temples. We are hoping also to go to the nearby National Park and try to find some Tigers!

Thank you for stopping by again and I’m sorry I cannot reply to your comments which I enjoy immensely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.