Lack of Wisdom

A late blip for me as I have been in London all day. Even later home having met up with my husband and taken him for a bite to eat for his birthday yesterday.

Although the bulk of the day was spent in and around the national Portrait Gallery (The Taylor-Wessing Portrait prize exhibition is really worth seeing) we met at Tower Hill tube station to look at the poppies. John has not seen them, despite being in London almost every day, and was bowled over by the sheer scale of red. It really brings home the devastation caused by war, all those lives and misery caused. I can find no wisdom in any of this so my blip is the opposite ..... there is no wisdom in war!

Already the 'unplanting' has started as you can see by the swathe of bare earth in front of the cascade - that part will remain. I think all poppies will be out of the ground within a few weeks - they took much, much longer to put in! So for those of you awaiting your poppy - it won't be very long.

I am amazed at the immensity of this scheme - its brilliance and its emotive power; it will be something to remember. If you are still hoping to get to see it you will have to be quick. I bet the ground staff have an uphill task ahead of them in restoring the moat area to its former glory.

I'll catch up with everyone tomorrow.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.