RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Third Generation Artisan

We are spending the night in Tonala a little over half way to Puerto Vallarta where we will be spending the next week (me shooting SOB Volleyball photos, my wife relaxing at the hotel). This city, a suburb of Mexico’s second largest city Guadalajara, is known for its selection of glassware. We must have been in the wrong area for despite walking around the centro we found no shops selling anything of note. We did find an outstanding ceramics museum, where I took some great photos one of which I was planning to feature here until we stumbled upon an amazing pottery shop. While looking around, a man who spoke excellent English, asked if we would like a tour of the production area. This is our guide's father, still working in the business his grandfather started three generations earlier. Our tour guide and his seven brother’s now run things, producing handcrafted pottery of incredible variety. I was privileged to get many wonderful shots in this amazing space, but liked the look and feel of this one the best. It reminds me of images I have long admired in National Geographic Magazine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.