Reflection

One of the things that some undergraduates find difficult (or they simply scoff at it) is the reflective process; thinking about how something worked out and how it might be improved in future. Today I've been so reflective you could put me in the road as a cat's eye.

In preparation to leaving the current job I'm writing notes on the 56 prisons I've been working with. That number is exaggerated as some are simply a name as I've had little contact with them while others are real places; I know where to park and whether I'll be held up at the gate. I know the colour of the paint on the walls of the corridors and the smells and sounds of the place. I know who is there and something of their story - staff and students. This isn't making me maudlin - far from it.

I then started thinking about the job I've been doing for eight years, the last two full time. I started thinking about the good bits and the bad bits. The latter generally relates to battles with the different agencies involved; including the university. There are so many agendas involved it's surprising that anything actually happens in prisons but it does and, often, it's amazing. And the good bits have been great and more than compensate for the rubbish.

So here I am - looking reflective. Those who know me might ask whether this look is much different from any other that I might wear.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.