Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Calmness

First of all, many thanks for all of the comments, stars and hearts you have given my picture of Durdle Door yesterday, it helped it into the top 3 of the Spotlight. I'll thank you once I get home and have more WiFi time.

The conditions today have also been a bit trying. I set the alarm and set off early to Corfe Castle to see a spectacular sunrise. I got parked up and then scrambled up the hill so I could overlook Corfe Castle, unfortunately there was no misty sunrise, just a purply firey sunrise. It was blowing a gale on top of the hill, so it was quite tricky keeping the tripod still.

As I was making my way back to the car I was walking alongside a stream when there was flash of electric blue streaking along above the surface of the stream, it was a fast moving Kingfisher.

I then moved on to Swanage where I had a walk along the sea front. It was very bracing on the sea front, and even more so on the cliff top. It was very strange being at the sea side in Winter as there hardly anybody there, in fact there were more flourescent clad workmen than anybody else. I paid my fee for a stroll on to the pier, where I took this picture of the old pier. I have given it a High Key treatment with a long shutter speed

I called in at Corfe Castle for a spot of lunch before heading to Lulworth Cove. It was very windy here, although the rain held off, but there was spray being blown up from the crashing waves. At Stair Hole the water was blowing through the caves, and out through a blow hole in the top of the arch, and in the area behind the rock face the water was foaming so much that the foam was being whipped up by the wind and was floating off over the cliff top. I also encountered another couple school parties while I was at Lulworth Cove.

Tomorrow I think I will head towards Portland Bill and Chesil Beach. Hopefully the weather will be a little calmer tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.