Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

St Catherine's Chapel

Wow, thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts on my two preceding pictures from Dorset, my image of Durdle Door made the top three of the spotlight thanks to you guys, and now today I've found out that it has been made a staff pick for the week, the first time I have received that honour.

Today I had a lie in, well I am on holiday, and then I made my way to Abbotsbury in glorious sunshine. The aim of this visit was to photograph St Catherine's Chapel, which is on top of a hill overlooking the village of Abbotsbury and Chesil Beach. It was still a bit breezy, but it was really bright and sunny. I have chosen this picture as I like how the cloud seems to arch over the Chapel.

I had a lovely lunch in a tearoom in the village, and the owner chatted to me about photography, and he told me some places to go to get some good views of the Chapel.

In the afternoon I headed towards Portland, via a small stop at Chesil Beach. As I am a Geography graduate I have always heard about this mighty natural wonder, a 38 mile shingle bar running from Lyme Regis to Portland, but this is the first time I have actually seen it, and it is impressive, if a little stark.

I then made my way onto the isle of Portland, and then down towards the tip where the lighthouse is at Portland Bill. The sea's were pretty rough still, although the wind had dropped a little. I took some photos of Pulpit Rock and of the lighthouse, and I waited for the sunset. It was quite subtle, but nice to see. Tomorrow I head for home again, but I might have a little dawn photography expedition again, weather permitting, and then I will be able to start catching up with journals.

Have a good weekend everybody!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.