Queenhithe Mosaics being installed

I was lucky enough to be in London when this wonderful mosaic was being installed at Queenhithe Dock, on the north bank of the Thames just a short way downriver from the Millenium footbridge.
Southbank Mosaics have been working on this Queenhithe Dock Heritage Timeline Mosaic Project for over a year and I've followed the project on their facebook site for most of that time. Watching the mosaic slowly appear on its wall was magic!
After I left London the project was finally completed with the whole mosaic in place. You can see photographs of parts of the completed mosaic in this facebook album,
Queenhithe Dock mosaic or even better go and visit it when you are in London.
I should probably mention that my brother-in law runs South bank Mosaics so I'm not an entirely neutral observer, but as we watched and took photos nearly everyone passing by stopped to look and there were a lot of photographs and conversations created as they watched.
This was a backblip so today's 14 november blip will be in place later this evening.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.