Chugging in the Rain

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #184

There have been just a few very short times in my life when time has dragged, when I've found myself clock-watching at work, counting down the minutes before being able to escape home. Enough to be enormously grateful that I haven't experienced that feeling for a very long while. Indeed, the opposite is true at the moment. If I do any clock-watching now it almost always comes as a shock to find how many minutes have passed, and how few remain in the day to get done what is needed. Although the work is not particularly stimulating I still want to slow down the hands of the clock. Another week has completely whizzed by.

At lunchtime today it felt almost like dusk, the light was so poor. By the time I left to get in the food for our regular Friday team sandwich fest the heaviest of the rain had abated but it was still falling steadily enough to see a lot of umbrellas about. This scene caught my eye immediately. I actually had both my blips sorted within a minute of getting to Market Square. Some days are just like that.

Tonight I've been at the Ben Rhydding Cricket Club Awards Dinner. Roam has come up from London for the weekend and has a certain swagger about him. He is maturing so fast. He picked up a fair bit of silverware tonight, the fielding prize for both the third team and the second team, and the bowling prize for the second team, which he captained this season. Forrest shared the player's player prize for the first team with his best mate Alex. I happened to be sitting next to Alex's mum so that was a nice moment. A lot of these lads I've known since they were little boys and it's always a shock to see them now as strapping great men, especially when turned out so well in their suits and ties. There was a massive feeling of pride all around the place. The club put on a pretty damn good show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.