Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Workshop update.

Today I have been making the holes in the underside of the seat, having spent quite a lot of time getting the correct angle for the legs to be inserted into.

They are all the same depth and angle now. I have purposely put two legs in the holes to give you an idea of the angle the legs will be at.
If you go Large you will see into the front two holes and the angle I have drilled them out at.

For drilling out the holes I used a 'Forstner' bit which in this case is 25mm diameter. These handy 'bits' make flat bottomed holes, ideal for the job in hand. They come in a large range of sizes.
With reference to the back rest of the stool, I have used different sizes of 'bit' to create the design of hole I wanted. Whilst making these holes I put underneath a scrap piece of wood so that when the 'bit' breaks through it does not break out any wood from the piece you are making the holes in.

The next stage now is to sand all the parts to a really smooth finish, glue them altogether and then finally seal it and then polish it.

Hope you are all having a great weekend,

Enjoy and take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.