Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Just sanding............

........And three more to go!!
I am sorry I have not been around for a few days, but I have just got myself a new part time job. The present one I have, I have had for two years and hated it from more or less day one. So have been going to interviews and having an exit interview from my current employer. Not a lot of time for blipping!!

Finding a job when you are in one's sixties is not quite so easy these days, but I have managed it and I start on 5th December.
I will not even have to drive to work. It is a two minute walk up the road, and there will be no hassle entailed with the job.

Enough of me. I have found sometime to do a little bit of woodwork today and have begun the sanding process.
In the shot above the leg on the left is completely unsanded whilst the one on the right is.
Now you can see the 'warmth' and grain of the wood showing and the surface is now very smooth indeed. To see it up close go Large.

This leg alone took me about 2 hours to do. This is an operation I will never scrimp on doing. The better sanded will produce a lovely finish once it has been sealed and then polished.
In the shot are the different grades of sand paper I am using for the the job.
Top piece of sand paper is a coarse 60 grit.
next one down is a 120 grit.
third one down is a 240 grit.
and the last one is a 400 grit.
This is the order on does any sanding process, if you don't it will leave scratches on the wood and when sealed will look horrible. There are much finer grits available which I have but will not be using on this occasion.

Hope you have not fallen asleep reading this but I know a lot of you are so interested in it and it gives me pleasure to blip the progress.

Hope you are all having a nice weekend.

Enjoy and take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.