Winter Droving

This is a Winter festival that more or less takes over the whole of Penrith on one day in November. I was in town this afternoon and was amazed to see just how huge this event has become.

Apparently it ‘celebrates all things rural, traditional and fun’. The link with droving is to do with the fact that old droving routes went through Penrith, as I discovered when I was following one of them. And the town has an age old role as the place where markets have been held and livestock and produce has been brought for sale. There was certainly plenty of local produce about, although I did not see any livestock. There were a few Alpaca about, but I doubt they were for sale!

This is a tug of war that was clearly popular with the crowds (and photographers).

I was amused to see these two making their way through the stalls and activities, looking very suspicious. No one seemed to be taking any notice of them, but they were putting on a wonderful act . . . at least I presume it was an act!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.