Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Squiddies wider view

I had no intention of going to Squiddies this evening but stopped here on my way back from further around the lake as I liked the light at the time. This jetty should really go in one of Tim's Derelict Thursday challenges as there is now a broken plastic tape across the jetty warning of danger. A lot of the wood is rotten and I suspect someone has fallen through.

Now to report. The concert was fabulous, a great rock and roll show. Mick's voice held up. There was not too much BS going on. You know how some artists can rave on and on and on trying to charm the audience. It opened with Jumping Jack Flash and finished with I Can't get no Satisfaction. My favourite would have been Sympathy with the Devil (there were lots of woo woos on the way back to the car). They had two singers in support, two saxes and someone on keyboard and bass. Ronnie and Keith had a ciggie in their mouths by the end of the third song and pretty much smoked continuously. Mick pranced, danced and postured just like the Mick of old but at one time had forgotten what was the next song and had to be reminded. I think I saw some younger looking people than Charlie in the Nursing home visits that day but he did smile at the end. A helicopter took them to Cessnock airport and I heard a jet leaving (probably Mick's plane). Now that is travelling in style. The one thing I felt was that they were really enjoying themselves. At this rate, they will be still touring with Zimmer frames in years to come and while they can give the show they gave last night, no-one will be complaining. Noise wise, yes, a couple of songs were full blast but nothing like a U2 concert where my ears ring for days afterwards. So, the photos were nothing to write home about but here is one if you are interested. And here is a review from the local rag for those of you who are really interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.