The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Koh Rong boat

I really wanted to see the neighbouring island, Koh Rong Samloem. It's meant to be stunning but empty and it'll make a nice change from this place. Yesterday I booked a boat trip that goes there for a couple of hours along with fishing, snorkeling and a beach BBQ. I arrived at 11.30am ready for the trip but after multiple delays and excuses, I was told it would be leaving 1.5 hours late. I had no choice but to agree but only after reducing the fee. I returned at 1pm but the guy was nowhere to be seen. Finally at 1.15pm he turned up and told me the boat couldn't go to Koh Rong Samloem because I was his only customer. He'd totally ruined my plans and I could have gone with another boat had he just been honest with me from the start.

Too late to get to Samloem another way, I had to quickly join another boat that did the other activities but just around this island. The snorkeling was a bit rubbish but nice to be in the water. The fishing, though initially slow, picked up once I worked out the method the Cambodian guy was using. There were no rods, just a bit of line wrapped around a plastic spool, a weight and some squid pieces on a hook. I was getting bites regularly and caught 7 in total.

We went to Long Beach, a gorgeous and mostly empty beach on the other side of the island. There our fish were gutted and cooked for us on the BBQ. We sat and watched the sunset before heading back to the village. It ended up being a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.