The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Dino Ribs

Yep, another food photo. To be fair, it was the main event of the day...

Rough seas meant my boat back to the mainland was delayed and then very choppy. Quite a few people were being sick in to plastic bags and over the side of the boat. Once back on the mainland I got a 90-minute minibus to Kampot, a riverside town famous for its pepper.

I instantly liked the feel of the town. I booked in to a hotel with A/C, hot shower, fridge and the first decent wifi for ages, all for £10. I went for dinner with two girls from the bus (one went to Sussex Uni!) to the most well-known restaurant in town, an American BBQ joint called the Rusty Keyhole. I'd been recommended it months before and then again recently, just for their ribs.

Instead of each getting half a rack of ribs, we paid a dollar more between us and got the 'Dino Ribs', 1.5kg of delicious pork. Mmm. There is a challenge for one person to eat it all in one sitting. If successful you get a free dessert (just what you need) and your photo goes on the wall. There were far more photos of failed attempts than successful and I can understand why. Even though I hadn't eaten lunch and all three of us were starving, we still left enough for another person. It was difficult seeing it taken away but I was very full and very happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.