The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Turtle power

Even though I had A/C in my room, regular power-cuts meant that I kept waking up sweating. I wasn't at all well-rested. I rented a bicycle and went to meet Stéphanie and Marie at the beach for lunch. We also rented some snorkelling gear to explore the crystal-clear sea. After only a couple of minutes in the water, I found this massive turtle (the photo doesn't show just how big it was) and swam with it for about five minutes. I filmed it and you can watch my video in HD here: https://youtu.be/O7PJltQ6BKM

It was a fantastic experience and I felt so lucky. It was worth coming to the island just for that!

Afterwards we cycled the circumference of the island which only takes about 30-45 minutes. However, one of the pedals on my bike fell off and it ruined the ride because, despite the efforts of a few locals who attempted to repair it, it kept coming off and it was very difficult to ride. Nothing could ruin the day after the turtle experience though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.