lemonzest

By lemonzest

Shanty Town

We performed our civic duties this morning, in my case rather diluted, since I am only entitled to vote in the very local council elections. However I did what I could and was asked by one of the 10 people officiating in the small voting chamber how it felt to have voted for the first time. It was in fact the second time, but he probably didn't notice since hardly anybody voted last time. I just answered that I didn't feel any different and I didn't really know what changes to expect. D finished voting more slowly as she had a huge sheaf of papers to page through.

When we arrived home I rang a friend, AT to say thank you for something and was somewhat shocked by the fact that she had just found her English partner P had died very suddenly. In fact I'm still feeling rather upset and sad for her. The last time I saw her I asked her to try to persuade him to visit here with her. He didn't leave Warsaw very often. I had never met him. I still haven't thanked her for the cloth she sent that she thought might be good for a dressing gown.

D and I had a subdued lunch before D had to catch the train for Warsaw and change for the bus in Malkini, central Poland. The line is still up because they are upgrading the connection for the new faster Pendolino. I drove back slowly past several speed traps and border guards at a few strategic points. When I got in I lit the fire and warmed the house up.

The local election results at the national scale look very depressing. I think we should sell up and move to Uruguay.

I only took this shot to document progress but since it's the only one I took it will have to be my blip. The builder won't be coming tomorrow, but he rang and said he'll be here on Tuesday.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.