Journey Through Time

By Sue

Chinese Lantern

The wind is mostly gone, the sky is a gorgeous blue and I went to the Wildlife Botanical Garden before I went to the store for dinner options. There were a lot of birds twittering in the trees, but I just grabbed my camera with my regular lens, and I'd planned a quick trip anyway, so when I found the Chinese Lanterns, I hoped my Blip was in the bag. I think this is okay.

Physalis alkekengi (bladder cherry, Chinese lantern,[2] Japanese lantern,[2] or winter cherry;[2] Japanese: hōzuki), is a relative of P. peruviana (Cape gooseberry), easily identifiable by the larger, bright orange to red papery covering over its fruit, which resemble paper lanterns. It is native from southern Europe east across southern Asia to Japan. It is an herbaceous perennial plant growing to 40–60 cm tall, with spirally arranged leaves 6–12 cm long and 4–9 cm broad. The flowers are white, with a five-lobed corolla 10–15 mm across, with an inflated basal calyx which matures into the papery orange fruit covering, 4–5 cm long and broad.

Auntie is doing better but she gets very tired easily, so we told her to stay as long as she wants. I don't want her to get to her apartment and not have the strength to even make her dinner. We just went outside and walked for a very short walk in the sun. It felt good to us to feel the sun on our faces, without the wind sandblasting our faces off.

Bill also did some yard work, picking up some of the wind debris that landed in our back yard.

A few chores to do and that's about it for today. Hope all is well for everyone. See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.