Horse, ferry

A coastal walk on a dull afternoon - I missed the earlier sunshine - gathered only a handful of images. I dithered then came back to this one. The ponies have returned to their winter grazing task on the cliffs and as the ferry put out into the bay I was reminded of the fact that there's a street in London called Horseferry Road. The name's said to derive from a barge crossing that for centuries provided a link between the king's palace at Westminster and the archbishop's palace at Lambeth until a bridge was built. Horses were among its passengers.

(Or could it have been a whores' ferry? The mind boggles....but I digress.)

The other few shots from today start here: fieldfares gleaning in a field, two sorts of lichen, a crimson waxcap (I was pleased to find that) and an ash twig in bud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.