Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Mine Arrived Today

A busy day! The first job was to meet the tarmac layer who had given me a quote on Friday for doing the parking area outside the holiday lodge. They have been working on the road past it and we took the opportunity to smarten up our property.

Next, I hurried to the studio: I had an important photo session with pack of old characters. Biblical characters to be precise. I want to make a very special Christmas card this year. Whether The Mother will live to see Christmas, or not, has been in the balance all year but these last two months have given the family much concern.

SO! About the card. About 55 years ago The Mother saw a plain white plastic nativity set in Woolworths for 2/6. That's 12½ pence! She bought some enamel paints and painted it for us. Then she did one for my junior school, then her office, then her sister...

My own set has suffered, it has been out every Christmas but my cousin could provide me with an exact replica. Today I photographed all the pieces to make a very special card for family and friends this year. (And you blippers, of course!)

There was a surprise waiting for me when I got home, a parcel had been left with my neighbour. I had no idea what it could be, I hadn't ordered anything recently.
I opened it to find my poppy, one that had been part of the Blood Swept Lands And Seas Of Red. I never expected I would get it so soon, or so beautifully packaged with with a descriptive booklet.

Thank you, blipper, I have forgotten who told me in August, that these were for sale. I couldn't get to see them but I am proud to own one.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.