The photographer at work

Another wonderful day in the Blue Mountains. Wonderful because of the brilliant early summer weather. And because of the abundant bird life, which I was able to see with little effort required; or patience even.

Most of all because S and I had the opportunity to spend happy and relaxing time with Tsuken and Mrs T. Another splendid lunch at another pleasant cafe. This time associated with an art gallery. Enough calories in the sandwich and ale I chose to last a whole day.

At the start of the day the usual avian visitors arrived; king parrots, rainbow lorikeets, and the rosella pair. This morning they were accompanied by a newcomer. New to me, at least. A Brown Cuckoo-Dove.

Later this morning I walked down into the bush behind the Tsuken house hoping to see, and photograph at least one of the tiny bush birds we had seen flying around on our walk yesterday. Not long into the walk, I spotted a very small bird high above. I managed a less than average photo, which some processing this evening has almost resurrected. I think it might be a little finch.

A bit further on I sat and waited. Before long a tiny olive green bird landed nearby, and jumped and flittered about. It settled on a log only 2 - 3 m away. Although not clearly able to identify it, S thinks it may be a tiny wren.

Late this afternoon, I went for a run along the road to a track into the bush. There I saw a lizard with a very long tail, and later managed a lovely photo of a female King Parrot.

Back at the Tsuken abode, I saw a flash of grey and colour. In a gum tree (eucalyptus). Brought out the camera, only for it to head down onto the grass, where it was joined by its mate; one more bird species (Bronzewing ) recorded.

I turned to go back inside the house, and saw Tsuken at work getting his blip for the day. This has to be mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.