keithyboy

By keithyboy

No Sleep 'Til Milford!

Starting the day by moving a grill and then finding out the weather forecast was wrong, I rushed home to try finding something to do with dad. On a day like today, there was thing I wanted to do and that was fly. Knowing there might not be a second chance for dad to get up in the air on this trip, it was essential to find something. Having talked about fjords yesterday and with weather closing in, the trip to Doubtful sound seemed somewhat unlikely on Saturday, so Milford Sound was on the cards today and flying in was the only option for me. Booking on to a 10am trip meant very little time for me to get ready as pick up was 45 mins after I called.

Picked up from dad's motel, we were taken on board a 10 seat plane for the 40 minute journey which included a small detour to check out a glacier on a mountain top. Three other pictures from the day can be found on my own little website - they are the last three pictures on this page.. We also cruised the length of the sound, catching the sunlight, coffee, waterfalls, pictures, a penguin in it's natural habitat, some seals and the Tasman Sea.

Touching down, I asked dad how his first 47 hours had been in Queenstown. I got the kind of confused answer I was looking for, a state of bewilderment at how so many things could happen in such a short space of time.

Returning home after Nomi had started work, we caught up with her for a few minutes before I had a much needed nap. After the nap, it was time for dinner at Bella Cuccina where Phil hosted us for the night. It was a lovely meal with a lovely bottle of local wine.

Time for bed after that as the heavens opened right on cue, just as the people in Milford Sound had told us it would. Thunder and lightning signaled and extraordinary end to an extraordinary day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.