keithyboy

By keithyboy

Fighting fire with... concussion?

So yesterday passed me by without a photgraph to even think about. The reason being that I got very confused when my dad called from his mobile to ask where I was and said he would pick me up on the way to work. I thought he had called the wrong number so I carried on without too much thought but knowing what he is like, I kept an eye on traffic. Sure enough, he stopped to pick me up, a rather wonderful surprise in every sense, as if there wasn't enough confusion, he slammed on the breaks of the car as I was reaching for my seatbelt. I can now say that you should always buckle up before anyone drives away, we were doing around 30-40kmh when he tried to change gear in an automatic. my hair gel left an impressive mark at the top of the windscreen.

At work, I was distracted and confused but bumbling along nicely until the pain kicked in after a while and the realisation that my vision was a little fuzzy and my words were slurring occasionally. Remembering similar symptoms from a few months back, my slightly glazed eyes in the mirror to discover some slight concussion symptoms.

Things were kicking along nicely, if slightly fuzzy, until around 4.15 when somebody from the burger bar came running through to tell me there was a fire. Wow, was there a fire, the bacon grill had gone up for no apparent reason, the guys were doing a great job as I walked in, John was on the phone, security were ushering out some customers (who ran inside when they seen an open door) while the other 2 were preparing the fire blanket. We saved the shop but lost the grill, a victory all around! The fire service were quick to praise the quick thinking staff.

Read meadia reports from Stuff.co.nz

mountain scene

Otago Daily Times

Everything felt fine afterwards but on the way home I thought my lungs were a bit tight, not sure whether to put it down t the lack of exercise or smoke inhalation... definitely the latter, it makes me sound more like a stunt man when I start the day with concussion and finish it with smoke inhalation.

The inquest at work showed that everyone did everything right and a new grill was on it's way. Fergburger opened a little after 6pm, almost 10 hours late without the bacon grill.

What you see in the picture is the remnants of a Cock a Doodle Oink (I had to have one with bacon after last night) rushed down on my break, in the morning, it will be time for a team of us to move the new grill into position - all 220kg of it... Feeling manly now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.