Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

You Are What You Read

Dear Diary,

You can tell a lot about a person, I think, by looking at what is on their bookshelf. Since this journal is a bit of a self-portrait, I thought I'd do a photograph of a selection from my bookshelves. It was not an easy task as it turned out. I have a very eclectic taste in reading materials! Still, it is a decent sampling.

Growing up we would make a weekly trek to the town library. Both my parents were voracious readers, especially my mother. So there were always books around. One of my favorite rainy day activities was to curl up with a volume of the encyclopedia. I would share the most interesting tidbit I'd learned at dinner that night.

When I really wanted to be alone with my book, I would retreat to our large, walk-in linen closet with my flashlight. Even at that early age I craved solitude. My grandmother use to love to relate how I would hide under the covers with a book and a flash light after "lights out". Apparently I didn't quite understand that the light could still be seen through the blankets! But she never disturbed me.

I never feel lonely if I've got a book - they're like old friends. Even if you're not reading them over and over again, you know they are there. And they're part of your history. They sort of tell a story about your journey through life.

-Emilia Fox

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.