MONO CHALLENGE - DAY 5

I can’t say I am sorry to get to the end of this challenge, and I struggled to think of a blip for today - spent about an hour sorting one out, then spied Mr. HCB in the garden sweeping leaves. I had told him yesterday I would like a person in my blip for today and his face dropped. But today, I opened the conservatory door, zoomed in and surprised him, so he didn’t have time to object.

We have a few trees in our garden and there are also several outside our fence, so in the Autumn, there are always lots of leaves to be swept up. I love the way the besom broom is twirling as Mr. HCB sweeps. The broom was left here when we bought the house 32 years ago and is still going strong - for those who don’t know what a besom broom is, here is a description :

The term "besom" is now mostly reserved for a "traditionally constructed" broom, made from a bundle of twigs tied to a stouter pole. The twigs used could be broom (i.e. Genista, whence the modern name "broom" for the tool), heather or similar.

To say I am frustrated at not being able to go out there to help is an understatement, but I dare not even show my face - Mr. HCB would be angry if I even walked onto the grass, so I just watch and perhaps next year!

“Sorrow prepares you for joy.
It violently sweeps everything
out of your house,
so that new joy can find space to enter.
It shakes the yellow leaves
from the bough of your heart,
so that fresh, green leaves can grow in their place.
It pulls up the rotten roots,
so that new roots hidden beneath have room to grow.
Whatever sorrow shakes from your heart,
far better things will take their place.”
Rumi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.