WACKY WEDNESDAY - WITH APOLOGIES TO CHARLES WESLEY

It’s well into November, the sun is shining, the conservatory doors are open and it’s very pleasant.  I had seen all these tomatoes in the greenhouse through the landing window as I came downstairs so went out to take some photographs - Mr. HCB tells me he also has lettuce leaves and spring onions, so guess what’s for tea today?

Then I penned these few words to be sung to the tune of the hymn “And Can It Be That I Should Gain” written by Charles Wesley in 1738 - I sang it to Mr. HCB and he went back out into the garden muttering “She gets madder!”  As I always tell him, “Better to be mad than miserable!!”

And can it be that we should pick
These lovely tomatoes
From our vines
Even the cucumbers look all right - 
All thanks to Mr. HCB.
Salad it is for our tea today -
The lettuce will be picked
And washed and dried; 
With mayonnaise
With mayonnaise 
With mayonnaise
We shall enjoy!
© Maureen Iles

P.S.  If you don’t know the tune to this, you might like to sing along to it here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.