FLOWER FRIDAY

I looked out of the bedroom window when I first got up because I like to choose a flower from our own garden for the Flower Friday Challenge, if possible.  There wasn’t much in the back garden, but when I went into the kitchen and looked out, there was a beautiful rose on my David Austin Crocus rose bush.

It was facing away from me, so I had no compunction about cutting it because I will be able to enjoy it on my kitchen windowsill - and the last rose I blipped on the 9th November is just about ready for the compost heap.

It was only when I had taken about a dozen photographs that I realised there was also a tiny spider on one of the petals, so this had to be the shot I used today.

After yesterday’s high winds, I really do need to prune the rose bushes, so it was great to have just one more for the challenge today.  Flower Friday next week will certainly be a challenge!

I will enjoy looking at the last rose of summer for a few days and also enjoy its perfume and who knows, it may even be blipped when it has faded.

’Tis the last rose of summer
     Left blooming alone;
All her lovely companions
     Are faded and gone…..

Thomas Moore : 1779-1852

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.