SWEET POTATO SILLY SATURDAY

You all know how Mr. HCB loves his garden and for the last two years he has grown sweet potatoes.  This year’s crop was dug last week but sadly the return for the outlay wasn’t really worth it, so he told me he won’t be growing them again.  However, I must say that the ones I have cooked were delicious.

A couple of the sweet potatoes were silly shapes, so I told Mr. HCB that I would use them for Silly Saturday so here they are - the one on the left looks as if it is wrapping its arms around itself and the one on the right looks as if it could lose some weight!

I have scattered some hearts around these silly sweet potatoes - I am still giving these out every day and am amazed at how well they are accepted.  I am also surprised when I give one to a complete stranger, and tell them that it’s to bless them, that they put it either in their pocket or purse and say “I will keep that, thank you so much!”  In this day and age, when everyone is rushing around, people don’t seem to expect a blessing, but these small wooden hearts let people know that someone cares.

We had a wonderful evening when Heidi of HeidiAndDolly came for a meal - she didn’t listen to her Satnav - she and Mr. HCB are a good pair - so she was a bit late, but said she enjoyed the meal, and of course, we chatted and chatted and laughed together so much.  The extra photograph would have been my selfie for Silly Saturday, but of course, it was taken yesterday so doesn’t qualify!  Thanks for coming, Heidi, let's not leave it so long until the next time!

Mr. HCB went out into the kitchen shaking his head and started the washing up, so you can tell how silly Heidi and I were being!  However, he did come back in so we persuaded him to get in a shot just behind us!  Just hope this doesn’t put Cassnet off as I am having Blipmeet with her on Monday!

I watched the last speech given by Dr. Randy Pausch - and you can see part of it here - it really was so inspirational and I remembered this quote, which is so true:

"Never, ever
     underestimate 
          the importance 
               of having fun."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.