FLOWER FRIDAY - BUT NOT STRICTLY A FLOWER!

After I had been out for a walk yesterday afternoon, I saw some dandelion seed heads in the grass just as I walked into our road and thought they would make a good Blip for Flower Friday.

Mr. HCB always gives me a weather report when I am waking up - I’ve got used to it over the years, so it’s quite good to know what to wear even before I get out of bed!

Today was no exception and his comment as he looked out of the window was, “There was a hard frost last night.”  I told him I was going to go and pick the dandelion seed heads and now I don’t even worry what the neighbours will say - they know I am mad anyway - but I knew I needed to get down and pick them before the sun melted the frost, so it didn’t take me long to get up and get dressed.  I thought the sight of me in my pink robe and slippers might disturb the neighbours at the bottom of the road who don’t know me that well and I could easily get carted off!

Job done, I came back indoors and took lots of photographs with both the Canon and the Panasonic, but liked this one best - in fact, it was the first photograph I took with the Canon.  One of our neighbours had given me a little photograph booth that pops up and then folds down after use, so I had set that up before I went to pick the seed heads, so it was all ready - and a good job it was, because the sun soon melted the frost.

It’s a beautiful sunny morning, the Goldfinches are still coming in, at least twelve and sometimes sixteen at a time, to our new feeders, I’m meeting a friend for lunch and a Blip friend is coming for a meal later - so a good start to what promises to be a good day.

"FROST, 
     like the crystallized dreams 
          of autumn, 
               began to coat the clearing 
                    with its sugar glaze.” 
Victoria Steele Logue : Redemption

P.S.  Thank you for all your good wishes yesterday - our arms are still heavy and sore, but better today than they were yesterday so we are trying to take on board what GallopingGran, a lovely Blip friend said, “You've got good things to look forward to, so think about that and it won't seem so bad.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.