ABSTRACT THURSDAY

Along with thousands of other people, I have been doing some “adult” colouring - although in truth, I don’t feel like an adult when I am doing it.  In fact, it takes me back to when I was a little girl and loved to do colouring.  I was always very particular and would even say I was a perfectionist, so even now, if I go “over the lines” I get quite upset.  

The beauty of colouring pencils though is that they are very forgiving and can be blended, so even if I go over the line with one colour, then I can usually blend the next colour in so that it doesn’t look that bad.

Got me thinking that perhaps life can be a bit like that - sometimes when situations don’t go quite as we expect them to and we get upset, there is usually a “fix” that we can make to put things back on track.  It might mean going a different way and taking longer, but even a circuitous route has it’s bonuses if we look for them.  The one great thing about colouring is that you can’t really be thinking about anything else whilst you are doing it - except perhaps what colour goes best next to the one you have just used, so it’s very therapeutic. 

My new box of Faber Castell colouring pencils that I bought a few weeks ago makes a great photograph for Abstract Thursday - and I am very happy with them - but I also have lots of others - and even found a box full of them that our boys used to use.  

If you have never tried colouring, then do go and have a look in somewhere like W H Smith - I was very tempted to treat myself to another book yesterday - the Christmas one was very appealing - perhaps I’ll go back and get it today!

A colouring book, a box of pencils, a sharpener, a cup of coffee or a glass of wine and some good music = bliss!

Life is about using
ALL the colours
in the box!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.