FLOWER FRIDAY - MAHONIA JAPONICA

I was amazed when I went out into the garden this morning to find so many plants  flowering, honeysuckle, snapdragon, primula, dianthus, nasturtium - most of which are normally summer flowering.  However, the weigelia and mahonia, which are autumn and winter flowering are at their best at the moment too.

This is our mahonia japonica - and the name Mahonia honours the Philadelphia horticulturist Bernard McMahon - something I learned today!

It does smell beautiful too, and any late bees will be happy to collect the sector, I’m sure, but one has to be careful when pruning because of the spiky leaves, because if they pierce the skin, it can be quite painful.

I rather liked the pattern on the leaves and Mr. HCB felt they looked quite Christmassy with the red colouring - but I’m not thinking about that until 1st December!

A flower does not think
     of competing with
          the flower next to it -
it just BLOOMS.

Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for my abstract colouring pencils yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.