STREET SATURDAY

As there is no particular challenge today, I set one for myself - to take some photographs in the street.  It was freezing when we went out and the wind made it seem even colder today  - so not a day to hang around for too long.

Obviously at this time of year, there is no shortage of people - and the town centre was heaving when I got there at abut midday.  The two men on the left were busy with their scratch cards and then I noticed that they both looked rather disgusted as they realised they hadn’t won anything - I’ve never bought one so don’t understand the “excitement” but I guess for some people they are the highlight of their Saturday.

By contrast, on the right were those who were much happier with their lot - the old man at the top is always in the same place playing his mouth organ and must be 80, if he’s a day.  The one in the middle is a Big Issue seller, and was doing a little dance for us as we walked by - hoping to persuade us to buy his magazine, and the girl at the bottom was just opposite him and was obviously enjoying her playing and singing.

Further down the town there was a “buzz” as many people gathered outside Marks & Spencer - perhaps “gathered” is the wrong word because they had been quickly “ushered out” and we could hear the fire alarm going inside.  I had only gone into town to change something at M & S, so it was a bit of an annoyance, but I felt sorry for the staff, who had had to leave the store with no coats and it was very cold standing around.  

We were allowed back in after about 15 minutes - but not before someone, with two little girls with him, said to his companion “I bet someone’s burnt the f***** toast” - I had to move away before I remonstrated with him - it’s no wonder young children use such bad language when they hear it from adults!

“To me, photography is an art of observation. 
It’s about finding something interesting 
in an ordinary place… 
I’ve found it has little to do 
with the things you see 
and everything to do with 
the way you see them.” 
Elliott Erwitt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.