MONO MONDAY - ILLUMINATE

Illuminate : to brighten with light

I wasn’t going to take part in the Mono Monday challenge today, because I wanted to make a Blip tribute to Karen, a special friend, who would be celebrating her birthday today, but who went to be with her Lord on 5th March 2014.

Then I found a photograph of Karen that I took at her son’s wedding a few years ago, and decided that I would use a mono version of it - because even in mono, this lady’s smile illuminates the page and always lit up a room whenever she entered it - I have put the original in as an extra.

Karen was a loving wife, mother, daughter, sister, aunt and grandmother to her grandson, whom she never met.  She was also a friend to many and an Elder in our church and today our love and prayers go out to her family and friends - she is still sadly missed but we often speak about her and remember her wonderful smile that illuminated not only her face but her whole being.  It is an honour and privilege to remember Karen on her birthday - Happy Birthday, Karen - I’ve no doubt you are dancing in heaven!

I remember Karen preached on these verses in one of her sermons and it just typifies the sort of person she was:

Do everything without grumbling or arguing, 
so that you may become blameless and pure, 
‘children of God without fault 
in a warped and crooked generation.’ 
Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky 
as you hold firmly to the word of life. 
And then I will be able to boast on the day of Christ 
that I did not run or labour in vain.
Philippians 2 : 14-16 NIV

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.