CATCHING UP!

Mr. HCB was due to go out manure collecting with a friend, so I had decided to stay in bed;  the phone rang at 8 o’clock and it was his friend saying that as it was so wet, it might not be such a good idea today.  

As I was now awake, I got up, had my shower, donned my pink robe and thought it would be a good idea to catch up with some correspondence, so have written seven cards this morning that will be going far and wide - I wonder if any of my friends will remember this blip when they get their card?  

I decided that a biro wouldn’t do the job as well as a fountain pen, so found my beautiful 60 year old Parker 51 pen and what a joy it was to write with that - not such a joy that the turquoise ink is all over my fingers, but it will come off in time!

Many blippers are part of the group “A Year With My Camera “ and just recently they have been asked to share their photographs - well this is how I share mine - on cards and I think they are appreciated.  I remember I worked for a Solicitor many years ago, and when he was due to retire and was clearing out his desk drawers, he showed me a pile of cards that I had sent him at various times, saying that he couldn’t throw them away because he had enjoyed them so much.  Isn’t it great when we have a hobby that can give joy and pleasure to someone else?

So, as I pop all these cards in the letterbox later, when Mr. HCB takes me out for coffee - and I will be changing out of my pink robe - I hope that those receiving them will have as much pleasure as I have had making and writing them with my fountain pen.

"My two fingers on a typewriter 
     have never connected with my brain. 
          My hand on a pen does. 
A fountain pen, of course. 
     Ball-point pens are only good 
          for filling out forms on a plane."
Graham Greene

P.S.  Apologies again for not commenting yesterday, but your kind comments and stars for were much appreciated.  I was visiting a friend in Cheltenham all day and was quite tired in the evening - but was fortunate to get home eventually on the train especially as many places were flooded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.