HAPPY BIRTHDAY, KAREN!

Dear Karen,

As we have two lovely photographs of you on in our hall, we see your smiling face every day so it’s really hard knowing that you are no longer with us - in fact, it is now almost four years since you passed away.

We may not be able to send you a birthday card, but I have made this collage to celebrate your birthday today and wanted you to know how much we still miss you - and of course, we aren’t the only ones who love and miss you because you were a loving wife, mother, daughter, sister, and aunt and, of course, grandmother to the lovely little boy you never actually met in person.  He is so cute and we love to see him when he comes to visit Swindon and you couldn’t find a more devoted grandfather than Keith!

There are so many lovely memories in this collage - in 2008, we were on a Church Council Awayday at Ashbury and you and I were outside enjoying the sunshine and each other’s company and of course, you were smiling as you nearly always were. 

Our first time at the Baptist Summer Camp, Leading Edge, in 2004 shows you packing the car with Dan and Ruth looking on - no-one could pack a car quite like you - in fact, I have never known anyone get so much into such a small space!

The photograph of you and Mr. HCB was taken in 2005 at the Ministry Fair on Celebration Sunday at Church - I have to say that retirement agrees with him, and he has put on a little weight since that photograph was taken but you would still recognise him!

Then, of course, there is that wonderful photograph I took in 2013 of you tasting the Chocolate Brownie mix - do you remember when I came round to help you to make some cakes?  After I had melted the butter and chocolate, I was “gob-smacked” when you told me to put in an ENORMOUS amount of sugar.  When I queried this, you looked at me and just said, “Maureen, do as you’re told” and of course, I put it all in immediately - with a look like you had on your face, I didn’t dare do otherwise!  It’s a good job you were there, because that gooey mix was so good even before it was cooked, that I could have eaten it there and then.  I have to say and I have told Ruth and Keith since that they were the BEST brownies I have ever tasted in my whole life so I was glad that I did as I was told.

I love this photograph of you and your Dad, and also the middle photograph and the one with you and Ruth, taken at Dan and Emily’s wedding in 2009.  It was such a wonderful day and you all looked so happy.  I’m not sure that Dan and Keith were as comfortable in their “wedding gear” as you and Ruth were!  I also remember that when we were looking round the shops in Oxford, although it was the 1st August, we saw our first Advent Calendar!

You and Avril, your sister, were so helpful when we were at Leading Edge, particularly as it was my first time ever camping and another memory I have is of you giving me a pair of flip-flops and saying that I would need them early in the morning.  I asked what was wrong with my trainers and you told me that very early each morning the grass was very wet - and of course, it was a long trek to the loos!  I was very grateful for those flip-flops and again, was glad I took notice of what you said.  You may have been “quietly spoken” but you definitely had an authoritative air!  Of course, you and your family and Avril, Mark and their family were all “seasoned” campers so you knew all the little “tips and wrinkles” and in fact, helped us and Harry a lot during that week. 

You might like to know that Mr. HCB and Keith still meet once a month for breakfast and again, as they did at camp, they still keep up the tradition of seeing how many different cereals they can get into the dish without it spilling out over the edge!

You were a great organiser and if ever anything needed to be sorted out particularly in Junior Workshop at Church, we always knew we could rely on you - Keith may have been a hoarder, but you stored so much for JW in your loft that I’m surprised the ceilings didn’t collapse!  

However, the tables were turned when a joint 50th birthday party was organised as a SURPRISE for you and Keith in 2009 - you couldn’t believe your eyes when you walked into the hall and I love the look on your face when you realised that the party was for you both.  Another lovely occasion when we, your Church family, were privileged to meet with many of your family and friends to celebrate with you and Keith.  I have put a photograph of the 50th birthday cake in as an extra - you were obviously well-known campers!

So on this day, we say “Happy Birthday, Karen” - you are loved and missed but you live on in your family and as your friends, we are privileged and blessed to have known you.

I remember you preached once from Philippians 2 v 14-16 and whenever I read these verses, they remind me of you.

Do everything without complaining or arguing, 
     so that you may be innocent and pure 
          as God's perfect children, 
               who live in a world of corrupt and sinful people. 
You must shine among them 
     like stars lighting up the sky, 
          as you offer them the message of life. 
If you do so, 
     I shall have reason to be proud of you 
          on the Day of Christ, 
because it will show 
     that all my effort and work 
          have not been wasted.

With our fondest love

M & J xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.