keithyboy

By keithyboy

Stop! In The Name Of Luge

Dad's last day here, I'm not sure we could actually beat any of the other activities we have done but we took advantage of the clear but windy weather and took another trip up Skyline to have a bit of a Luge. Until now I have refused to go on the luge here because it is a gokart track without engines or laps.

Now, I have to eat my words a little because it is extremely good fun even if it isn't a luge as I expected it to be - winter Olympics style. After this, e took an extremely long drive to Wanaka then Lake Tekapo so we could miss the awful weather moving in.

It became a bit of a race to Twizel between us and the weather, hopes of a helicopter flight to Mt Cook were long gone but we just managed to catch a glimpse of the summit for a few seconds before it disappeared in the cloud again. Stopping for coffee in in an extremely windy Lake Tekapo, we watched the water get blown off the lake by ferocious winds before heading home to dodge fallen branches and overturned trailers.

It has been great to have dad here and play tourist for a while, I just hope that next time there is a lot of notice so I can plan things a bit and look after everything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.