Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Rabbits

I appreciate that this will not be to everyone's taste, but country life is country life.

This afternoon I came across the local rabbit trapper at his work. When I was but a youngster, wild rabbit featured regularly on our table, but these days most people are reluctant to eat them. This is a great pity as they are plentiful, renewable and they provide very healthy eating. Much better to eat wild rabbits that have led a natural life than the domestic rabbits, provided by supermarkets, which have been raised in great cruelty in intensive rabbit batteries.

Let me tell you something interesting about wild rabbits; well, I think it is interesting. When I worked for a living I once wrote a paper on how energy flows through the animals living in our fair land. Of all the energy that passes from plants into our wild mammals each day, some 55% of it goes into rabbits! An amazing figure, particularly given that rabbits aren't native to the British Isles but were introduced from France by the Normans following the conquest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.