Snail a la Matisse!

I was reading yesterday about looking for textures all around, particularly created by light and shade. So today I decided to use textures in and around the house to create an abstract image. I am a great fan of Matisse's work and particularly like his use of cut-out shapes of contrasting colours to create his masterpieces. One of my favourites is The Snail. Using various images from the house and garden based around wood I have done my own cut-outs to portray a contrasting snail.

One of the lessons from Matisse is to suspend what you are expecting to see and look at an object or situation from a different perspective, a valuable piece of wisdom for many situations.

I hope many of you were able to get to Tate Modern and see the Matisse exhibition - just amazing to see his work full size!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.