A Life of Laughter

By LaughterLover

Cycling Adventures

As it's our last day in the lakes today, we decided we would make the most of it by going out for a cycle on the bikes. It wasn't what we planned to do during the holiday but we had our bikes with us and it wasn't raining. We looked out a route that had some off road and some on road and off we set.

The cycle started with a bit of a hike, both of us pushing our bikes to the top of a hill large enough to be a mountain. Rory had to carry the bikes over certain sections, it was that rocky. However, once we got to the top, the fun descent started. I hadn't realised how much I've come to love going mountain biking since I started going out with Rory, and although I am not good at it, I enjoy it none the less!

We ended up doing a loop of Ullswater, with a stop halfway round for lunch and then a struggle to get back on the bikes to continue on. By the end I was absolutely shattered and I couldn't make it up the massive hill to get back into Glenridding (where we'd stayed the night before) so we did a little more mountain biking down by the shore of the lake. Despite my lack of energy at the end, I think we both had a good time out on the bikes!

We had to stop and take photos of the beautiful sunset over Ullswater before we headed back in the car....the boat made the scene even more picturesque!

Now to travel back to Dundee (with a stop at Toby's Carvery to refuel) and back to reality with uni in the morning.....sad that the holiday is over

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.