JuneFox

By JuneFox

Monk Coniston Jetty, Coniston at sunset

Firstly, thank you so much for all your comments, stars and faves on Sunrise on Latrigg Fell which spent most of the day on Spotlight. My most popular and faved entry to date, which means a great deal to me as it was such a special morning. :)

Last day of the workshop with Tom Mackie and another early start for a sunrise shoot on top of Green Hill overlooking Ullswater. Not the great mists we had the day before, but it was still stunning watching the sun rise - bathing the hills in its warm glow. Even worth freezing for in the decidedly chilly wind on top of the mountain!

Back down for another late breakfast (brunch) and a welcome hot chocolate to warm up. The rest of the day was busy, visiting various locations - mountains, a wide valley, Blea Tarn, Yew Tree Tarn and ending up at Monk Coniston Jetty in Coniston for a sunset shoot, where this photo was taken. (I'll have to come back and fill in the names of the other places we stopped at as I didn't make a note of them at the time!).

It was beautiful watching the sun set over the lake. This was one of the last photos taken - a two and a half minute long exposure with a Little Stopper (kindly lent to me by Tom - since ordered one for myself!). By the time we left it was pitch black and we finally arrived back at the hotel by 6pm. Considering we left at 6.15am this morning, it was a long day, but worth every minute.

Tomorrow is the long drive home. I'll be sorry to leave. It's been a great workshop with a lovely group - had the most amazing sunrise and sunsets shoots (one of the main reasons I booked). I feel that i've learnt a lot under Tom's professional guidance. From the minute you arrive at a shoot, he's there - advising on compositions, settings, filters, etc and, just as importantly, the reasons why. It was also extremely useful receiving critique on my images. I enjoyed Tom's friendly, relaxed, professional approach to the workshop and look forward to joining him on another one soon. My mojo is definitely returning! :)

A few more images of the day can be seen here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.