Capturing the Everyday

By JulianBuchanan

The kōtuku ngutupapa (royal spoonbill)

Had a stroll locally with Yorkhull staying with us and we took our cameras.

I had some nice close up shots of gulls but in comparison to the kōtuku ngutupapa the gulls look like unrepentant scoundrels planning some evil deed so I decided they will have to wait their Blip day. A worthy close up of a Black Swan was also in the mix - beautiful, strong, commanding and graceful birds - but as they are always at the lagoon and can easily and justifiably make a blip appearance - todays choice is the kōtuku ngutupapa!

The kōtuku ngutupapa are fairly regular visitors to the Waikanae estuary but it’s always good to see them paying a royal visit. But as I sit and type I’m distracted the local Kahu Swamp Harrier that circles our garden - Paul and I rush out with cameras as the huge bird of prey swooped down spectacularly, imagining a brilliant photo of this huge bird eating it’s prey, but the bird was nowhere to be seen!

A picture of the Kahu would make my day :)

Maybe one day

MBK



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.