Gruinard Bay

It's my birthday today! I was treated to breakfast at a local cafe in Ullapool and then it was up to me where we headed so I opted for a trip to my favourite beach - Mellon Udrigle.

The drive to this beach is so beautiful that we stopped the car on several locations to catch the views.

This was the last stop en route to see the seals sunbathing at the shore's edge and on the rocks. I loved the contrast of colours and scenery here from shore to mountains.

We then spent the afternoon at the beach. Again, there are stunning views from the beach and for most of the time we had the place to ourselves. And yet again we had fantastic weather with wall-to-wall sunshine and little wind.

The day was finished off with a lovely meal and bottle of bubbly in The Ceilidh Place in Ullapool. Once back at the cottage where we're staying, we donned warm coats to go out stargazing. We had a great view of The Milky Way as well as many, many stars....

Not a bad way to spend your birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.