But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Morningside Maisie.

On my way home from the Wednesday cycle ride I was stuck behind this bus in the usual traffic jam.
Maisie came to Morningside from the Highlands in 1982 - in a children's book by Aileen Patterson. Jnr was just two years old at the time and so he grew up with her until he grew out of such things. In those days Mrs TD worked nights at week-ends and so for many years I was child minding from Friday evening until Monday morning; that involved being active in the local baby sitting circle and looking after toddlers in nappies - I don't see me being allowed to do that sort of thing these days.

When we were first married, we lived in Morningside, so when Maisie arrived we were familiar with the places in the story. I remember spending a very happy Saturday taking Jnr around all the places in the story - book clutched firmly in hand. We fed the ducks on Blackford Pond, climbed Blackford Hill, had a fish supper in the "Clan Chattan" chippie and ended up at the Dominion Cinema. All of these places were instantly recognisable from the illustrations in the book. And do you know, we didn't see a single kilted kitten all day.


I've just posted yesterday's, "Roslin Institute."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.